Preliminary Program

Dr. Christian Ehler | Member of the European Parliament, Germany (requested)
Oliver Schenk | Chief of the State Chancellery and State Minister, Germany
Prof. Sebastian M. Schmidt | Scientific Director at Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR), Germany

Moderation: Dr Jan-Martin Wiarda | Science Journalist

Dr Janez Potočnik | Republic of Slovenia

Saša Spačal | Post-media artist and researcher, Republic of Slovenia 

In 1991, five years after the Chernobyl disaster, twelve radiotrophic fungi species were discovered, using melanin to thrive in radioactive settings, leading to the creation of the Radiotrophic Fungarium. The Fungarium features art pieces that highlight the abilities of these fungi, honor scientific progress, and emphasize the long-term impact of radiation on society and the environment.

Not all mushrooms are alike
How fine underground braids could remedy heavy metal contamination
Dr. Alix Günther | Biogeochemistry, Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf, Germany 

An investigation of  the specifics of the interaction of four different fungal species with europium as a non-radioactive and chemical analogue for certain actinides and other representatives of the rare-earth elements. The HZDR is deciphering the migration behavior of radionuclides in the environment: details that are indispensable both for a hazard assessment and for the development of industrial remediation or extraction procedures.

Moderation: Dr Jan-Martin Wiarda | Science Journalist